## Dr. Ulrich L. Rohde Receives 2020 IEEE Region 1 Technological Innovation Award

The IEEE Region 1 has selected Dr. Ulrich L. Rohde as the recipient of the 2020 IEEE Region 1 Technological Innovation (Industry or Government) Award. The selection was made by the Region 1 Awards and Recognition Committee and approved by the Region 1 Board of Governors. The award is states "Technological Innovation Award - For pioneering research and leadership in signal processing." The Technological Innovation (Industry or Government) award is given for significant patents, discovery of new devices, development of applications or exemplary contributions to industry or government fitting Dr. Rohde's accomplishments in our industry.

Ulrich L. Rohde received the Dr.-Ing.habil. and Dr.h.c.mult. degrees. He is also a Full Professor with the University of Oradea and an Honorary Professor with Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, India. He is currently the Chairman of Synergy Microwave Corporation, Paterson, NJ, USA; the President of Communications Consulting Corporation; an Honorary Member of the Senate of Armed Forces University Munich; an Honorary Member of the Senate of the Brandenburg University of Technology Cottbus-Senftenberg, Germany; and a Partner of Rohde and Schwarz, Munich, Germany. He has published over 300 scientific papers in professional journals, and several books and book chapters. He holds several dozen patents. He is a member of the IEEE Technical Committee for HF, VHF, and UHF Technology MTT-17; a member of the IEEE Signal Generation and Frequency Conversion MTT-22; a member of the Board of Trustees Fraunhofer Gesellschaft (EMFT) for Modular Solid State Technology; a member of the Board of Trustees of the Bavarian Academy of Science; and an Honorary Member of the Academy of Science; a member of the Eta Kappa Nu Honor Society; a member of the Executive Association of the Graduate School of Business-Columbia University, NY, USA; a member of the Armed Forces Communications and Electronics Association; a fellow of the Radio Club of America; and the former Chairman of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Advisory Board with the New Jersey Institute of Technology. He was a member of the Board of Directors at Ansoft Corporation, Pittsburgh, PA, USA. He was a recipient of the prestigious 2014 IFCS C. B. Sawyer Award, the 2015 IFCS I. I. Rabi Award, and the 2015 IEEE Region 1 Scientific Innovation Award.